International Cooperation

The International Geographical Union (IGU)

The International Geographical Union was established in Brussels in 1922. However, the history of international meetings of geographers is much longer. The first of a series of congresses met in 1871 in Antwerp. Since its early days the Union has consisted of three major components: a General Assembly of the delegates appointed by the member countries which meets at the time of the Congress and is the highest authority of the Union; an Executive Committee which consists of a President, eight Vice-Presidents and a Secretary-General and Treasurer; Commissions and Study Groups which continue their work between General Assembly meetings. The working languages of the Union are English and French.

The International Geographical Union has the following aims:

1. ·to promote the study of geographical problems;
2. ·to initiate and co-ordinate geographical research requiring international co-operation and to promote its scientific discussion and publication;
3. ·to provide for the participation of geographers in the work of relevant international organizations;
4. ·to facilitate the collection and diffusion of geographical data and documentation in and between all member countries;
5. ·to promote International Geographical Congresses, regional conferences and specialized symposia related to the objectives of the Union;
6. ·to participate in any other appropriate form of international co-operation with the object of advancing the study and application of geography;
7. ·to promote international standardization or compatability of methods, nomenclature, and symbols employed in geography.

The International Geographical Union adheres to the International Council of Scientific Unions (ICSU) and the International Social Science Council (ISSC) and recognizes them as co-ordinating bodies for the international organization of science.